0
Return
1200x1200_Le_Marche_de_la_Vieille_Ville-Francoise_Cavazzana-8069-1920px

Inspiration

From one market to another

Visiting Lake Annecy and the surrounding area through its food specialties
Jul 2022
4 min.

Wherever you travel in France, farmers’ markets provide a great opportunity to learn about the typical foods in each region. An integral part of the summer season, they also offer the perfect excuse to explore Lake Annecy from a foodie’s point of view.

 

We have selected a few of the area’s most iconic markets for you to meander through, whatever the season. As you immerse yourself into the local Savoyard smells and flavors, they will sweep you away to another world. Be sure to enjoy this genuine treat to the fullest!

The most classic: the farmers market in Annecy’s Old Town

An institution and a must-visit for anyone staying in Annecy, the market in Old Town offers a whole host of surprises, even for regulars. On Tuesday, Friday, or Sunday morning, wake up early to take advantage of the cool morning air in the old neighborhoods and beneath the archways. In addition to the many fruits and vegetables, which provide the market such vibrant color, enjoy a variety of local cheeses and salted meats. Take the time to taste a slice of the area as you stroll through the cobblestone streets.

980x670_Le_Marche_de_la_Vieille_Ville-Francoise_Cavazzana-8071-1920px

© Françoise Cavazzana

The most refreshing: markets along the lake

As beautiful as the area’s beaches are, farmers markets offer another way to explore the shores of Lake Annecy. We highly recommend circumnavigating the lake from market to market, starting with Sevrier on Wednesday morning, Saint-Jorioz on Thursday morning, and completing the loop on the other side of the lake in Veyrier-du-Lac on Friday morning. On Thursday mornings during the summer season, you can also add the market in Talloires to your list.

Great ideas: ride the Navibus to the markets along the lake. Take a picnic basket to enjoy lunch along the water.

 

Navibus cruise

980x670_L_embarcadere_de_Saint-Jorioz-Gilles_Piel-10235-1920px

© Gilles Piel

Albanais and Pays de Fillière: markets that offer a change of scenery

The villages in Albanais and Pays de Fillière offer some of the most invigorating food experiences in the area and have the benefit of being located off the beaten path. In Albanais, enjoy the evening farmers market in Alby-sur-Chéran, from 16:00 (4pm) to 19:30 (7:30pm), while taking the time to explore this charming medieval village. Local products take center stage at each booth: the fruits and vegetables come from Col Fleuri in Marcellaz, the fresh pasta from Pasta di Marcello in Héry-sur-Alby, the honey from Miellerie du Vieux Moulin in La Biolle, and the goat cheeses, yogurts, and fresh “faisselle” cheese from Cabriolles, all examples of the offerings of many local producers.

On Wednesdays, from 16:30 (4:30pm) to 19:30 (7:30pm), enjoy a similar atmosphere at the market in Chapeiry, where the booths overflow with local products, including bread, sweet baked goods, cheese, honey, beer from the store Echappée-Belle, fresh and dried mushrooms from Aracil, as well as French macarons from Macarons Mandolier in Sevrier.

The farmers market on Wednesday and Saturday mornings in the village of Thorens-Glières, in Pays de Fillière, also figures among the area’s tastiest places to stop and a great place to buy food if you plan on heading to Glières Plateau, a principal area for the French Resistance during World War II.

The most creative: the Art and Creators market

Even if all of the aforementioned markets pique your appetite, there are other types of markets that you will find enticing. There is one that you shouldn’t miss: the Art and Creators market, which takes place the last Saturday of every month from 08:00 (8am) to 18:00 (6pm) in the heart of Annecy’s Old Town, along the Thiou River. A different type of market, this monthly event offers the opportunity to view the works of more than thirty talented painters, jewelry makers, clothing designers, and furniture makers. Take a moment to contemplate the incredible skill and expertise of the area’s artists and artisans.

980x670_5573_675_marche-des-createurs

© Ville d'Annecy

Take full advantage of the markets without the hassle of driving your car

To enjoy the markets around Lake Annecy, be sure to take full advantage of the wide range of transportation options and services available to avoid having to take your car. Depending on your mood, rent a regular bicycle, take advantage of the services offered by Vélonecy by renting an e-bike at one of the 48 bike-rental stations around the lake, hop on one of the free summer bus shuttles (July 1 through August 31), or drift leisurely across the placid lake waters on Navibus boat shuttles operated by the Compagnie des Bateaux boat company.

 

Mobil’été

630x850_AgenceEcomob_BenSlimane-2022-05-25-at-17.04

© Agence Écomobilité – Ben Slimane

Cheese: the A-list celebrity at every market

At each of the aforementioned markets, Savoie cheeses play a leading role in forging Lake Annecy’s unique identity. Savoyard rhymes with cheese, and several cheeses in the area have earned PDO/AOP (Protected Designation of Origin) certification and other Protected Geographical Indication (PGI/IGP) certifications. No less than eight cheeses – Abondance, Beaufort, Chevrotin, Emmental de Savoie, Raclette de Savoie, Reblochon Tome des Bauges, and Tomme de Savoie – represent the area in the tastiest of ways.

If you had the chance to view or taste the aforementioned cheeses and would like to bring a slice of the area back home with you, several starred cheese shops around Lake Annecy offer the chance to learn the secrets to Savoyard cheese, from cheese making to tasting: GAEC Les Noisetiers in Leschaux and the Semnoz cheese shop in Gruffy, Parmelan cheese shop in Villaz, and Thorens-Glières cheese shop. For high-end dairy products, visit the Laiterie (dairy) in Annecy-le-Vieux, the Crèmerie des Marchés (creamery) in Annecy, as well as the Crèmerie des Savoie (creamery) in Cusy located at the foot of the Bauges Mountains.

 

Savoie cheeses

980x670_Hotel_Best_Western_International_Annecy-Hotel_BW_Annecy-11537-1920px

© Hôtel BW Annecy

Great idea: All roads lead to Savoie Cheeses

If you just can never get enough cheese and you would like to explore the area by following in the footsteps of the AOP cheeses that contribute to putting the region on the map, follow the “Route des Fromages de Savoie (Savoie Cheeses Road): it includes no less than 73 places to visit in Savoie and Haute-Savoie. This approach offers the chance to learn about secret spots that you would not otherwise have heard of!

 

Savoie Cheeses Road

630x850_essentiel

© AFTALP

Copyright:

  • © Françoise Cavazzana

Journalist: Gaëlle Tagliabue

Translation: Darin Reisman

0
Retour
1200x1200_Le_Marche_de_la_Vieille_Ville-Francoise_Cavazzana-8069-1920px

Inspiration

Déambulez de marchés en marchés

Le territoire du lac d’Annecy sous son angle le plus gourmand
Juill. 2022
4 min.

Où que l’on soit, les marchés sont toujours l’occasion de découvrir les produits qui font la typicité de nos terroirs français. Temps forts incontournables de la saison d’été, ils sont aussi le prétexte parfait pour découvrir le territoire du lac d’Annecy sous son angle le plus typé.

 

Nous avons sélectionné pour vous quelques-uns des marchés les plus emblématiques à arpenter en toute saison. Laissez-vous emporter par les odeurs et les saveurs d’ici ; elles portent en elles tout le caractère de nos terres savoyardes. A consommer en toute délectation !

Le plus typique : le marché de la vieille ville d’Annecy

Institution parfaitement incontournable de tout séjour à Annecy, le marché de la vieille ville surprend même les plus habitués. Tous les mardis matin, mais aussi les vendredis et dimanches matin pour une version plus étoffée, saisissez l’occasion de vous lever tôt pour profiter de la fraîcheur des vieux quartiers et des arcades ombragées. Un marché aux mille couleurs où vous pourrez retrouver toutes les saveurs des fromages et salaisons de notre terroir. Prenez le temps de flâner et de déguster, cela va de soi.

980x670_Le_Marche_de_la_Vieille_Ville-Francoise_Cavazzana-8071-1920px

© Françoise Cavazzana

Les plus rafraîchissants : le tour du lac des marchés

Voilà une façon de découvrir les bords du lac d’Annecy autrement que par les plages, aussi belles soient-elles. Nous vous proposons ici un tour du lac des marchés en commençant par Sevrier le mercredi matin pour enchaîner par Saint-Jorioz le jeudi matin et terminer sur l’autre rive du lac en allant du côté de Veyrier-du-Lac le vendredi matin. A noter, le marché de Talloires s’ajoute à la liste des marchés du tour du lac tous les jeudis matin en période estivale.

Bons plans : rejoindre les marchés du tour du lac en Navibus, prendre de quoi pique-niquer et s’arrêter déjeuner les pieds dans l’eau !

 

Croisière Navibus

980x670_L_embarcadere_de_Saint-Jorioz-Gilles_Piel-10235-1920px

© Gilles Piel

Les plus dépaysants : les marchés de l’Albanais et du Pays de Fillière

Les villages de l’Albanais comme ceux du Pays de Fillière sont de véritables haltes revigorantes à l’écart du tumulte de lieux plus fréquentés. Du côté de l’Albanais, c’est en soirée que vous pourrez découvrir le marché d’Alby-sur-Chéran, très joli bourg médiéval plein de caractère, chaque mardi de 16h à 19h30. Là, les produits locaux sont les acteurs principaux des étals : les fruits et légumes du Col Fleuri de Marcellaz, les pâtes fraîches de la Pasta di Marcello d’Héry-sur-Alby, le miel de la Miellerie du Vieux Moulin de La Biolle en Savoie ou encore les fromages de chèvre, yaourts et faisselles des Cabrioles, un autre producteur savoyard en sont quelques exemples parmi d’autres.

Le mercredi, de 16h30 à 19h30, c’est à Chapeiry que vous retrouverez le même état d’esprit d’un marché local articulé essentiellement autour de producteurs locaux avec, entre autres, les pains, viennoiseries, fromages, miel et bières de l’épicerie L’Echappée-Belle, les champignons, frais et séchés, de Aracil ou encore les macarons à l’ancienne des Macarons Mandolier de Sevrier.

Le marché qui se tient dans le centre de Thorens-Glières au cœur du Pays de Fillière tous les mercredis et samedis matin fait aussi partie de ces escales alléchantes. Une étape intéressante si vous souhaitez vous approvisionner et ensuite rejoindre le Plateau des Glières, haut-lieu de la Résistance française durant la seconde Guerre Mondiale.

Le plus créatif : le marché de l’Art et des Créateurs

Même si tout cela vous a donné l’eau à la bouche, il existe bien d’autres types de marchés que ceux qui réveillent vos papilles. Il en est un à côté duquel vous ne pourrez pas passer ; le marché de l’Art et des Créateurs qui se déroule chaque dernier samedi du mois de 8h à 18h au cœur de la vieille ville d’Annecy et le long du Thiou. Dans un autre genre, ce rendez-vous fait partie intégrante des moments clés qui vous permettront d’apprécier les talents d’ici avec une trentaine d’artistes peintres, de créateurs de bijoux, de vêtements ou encore de mobilier pour une immersion dans les savoir-faire locaux en matière d’art et d’artisanat.

980x670_5573_675_marche-des-createurs

© Ville d'Annecy

Pour profiter des marchés en toute sérénité, pensez mobilité douce

Pour profiter au mieux de ces escales sur les marchés du lac d’Annecy, pensez à profiter des diverses possibilités qui vous sont offertes de ne pas prendre la voiture. Selon vos envies, louez un vélo, profitez du service Vélonecy mettant à disposition des vélos électriques dans 48 stations, profitez des navettes gratuites tout l’été (du 1er juillet au 31 août) ou naviguez en bateau avec le service Navibus de la Compagnie des Bateaux.

 

Mobil’été

630x850_AgenceEcomob_BenSlimane-2022-05-25-at-17.04

© Agence Écomobilité – Ben Slimane

Le fromage : la star des marchés

A retrouver bien évidemment sur tous les marchés précités, les Fromages de Savoie font partie intégrante de l’identité du lac d’Annecy. En effet, terres savoyardes riment nécessairement avec spécialités fromagères et ces dernières se déclinent en plusieurs Appellations d’Origine Protégée (AOP) et autres Indications Géographiques Protégées (IGP). Pas moins de 8 fromages – l’Abondance, le Beaufort, le Chevrotin, l’Emmental de Savoie, la Raclette de Savoie, le Reblochon, la Tome des Bauges et la Tomme de Savoie – représentent le territoire de la plus alléchante des façons.

Si vous les avez découverts sur les marchés et que vous souhaitez rapporter chez vous un bout d’ici, plusieurs fruitières constellées autour du lac d’Annecy vous proposent d’en percer les secrets, de la fabrication à la dégustation : le GAEC Les Noisetiers à Leschaux et les fruitières du Semnoz à Gruffy, du Parmelan à Villaz et de Thorens-Glières. Pour trouver des produits laitiers d’excellence ; rendez-vous à la Laiterie d’Annecy-le-Vieux, à la Crèmerie des Marchés à Annecy ou encore à la Crèmerie des Savoie à Cusy dans les Bauges.

 

Fromages de Savoie

980x670_Hotel_Best_Western_International_Annecy-Hotel_BW_Annecy-11537-1920px

© Hôtel BW Annecy

Bon plan : la route des Fromages de Savoie

Si vous êtes un inconditionnel de fromage rond et que vous souhaitez explorer le territoire en cheminant dans les traces de ces AOP / IGP qui font la renommée du territoire, partez sur la Route des Fromages de Savoie : il n’y a pas moins de 73 sites à visiter en Savoie et Haute-Savoie et cette approche peut être l’occasion de découvrir des lieux secrets que vous n’auriez même pas soupçonnés !

 

Route des Fromages de Savoie

630x850_essentiel

© AFTALP

Crédit photo :

  • © Françoise Cavazzana

Journaliste : Gaëlle Tagliabue